Bongiwe Msomi for SPAR Proteas (Gallo)

Reg Caldecott/Gallo Images

Netball South Africa have named the Proteas squad for the SPAR Challenge Tri-Nations series, which gets underway next month in Cape Town. 

The Tri-Nations series is scheduled to take place from 25-31 March, which will be contested by South Africa, Uganda and Namibia.

Due to the unavailability of overseas-based players, new teams had to be selected for this series, which will be held at the Cape Town Convention Centre.

“The Tri-Nations between Uganda and Namibia is very important for us as a team, and it will help us get ready for the ultimate goal which is a podium at the 2023 Netball World Cup which we are hosting,” said Mpumi Javu, Director of Selections at Netball South Africa.

This week, a group of 27 players were invited to a training camp in Stellenbosch and were then divided with 12 selected for the Proteas and 15 for the President’s XII.

“The inclusion of the President’s XII team also forms part of getting more players included in the national set up and get them ready to be part of the bigger team. I have full confidence in the teams that both coaches have selected,” added Javu.

The Tri-Nations tournament was set to get underway in January, but was rescheduled to March due to the country’s rise of Covid-19 cases.

“This is another opportunity for us to give the Proteas team international exposure and ranking games, we are thankful for that at this difficult time in the World. We respect Uganda ‘She Cranes’ and Namibian netball teams and know they will be tough opponents,” said Proteas head coach Dorette Badenhorst.

“The more we can play, and the more experience the team can get, the better they will become. Therefore, it is also important to give more players opportunity through the Presidents XII team.”

All matches in Cape Town will be broadcast live on SuperSport Variety 4.

Proteas squad, coached by Dorette Badenhorst:

Khanyisa Chawane, Izette Griesel, Rome Joubert, Nonsikelelo Mazibuko, Tshinakaho Mdau, Sian Moore, Bongiwe Msomi, Nozipho Ntshangase, Simone Rabie, Monique Reyneke, Renske Stolz, Chantelle Swart

President’s XII squad, coached by Jenny van Dyk:

Pamela Chukwu, Marlize de Bruin, Jessica du Plessis, Shongile Hlungwana, Didintle Keebine, Chante Louw, Akosua Mensah, Nomfundo Mngomezulu, Alicia Puren, Jo Prins, Fezeka Sondzaba, JeanteStrydom, Nichole Taljaard, Talja Venter, Bongise Wete